---
source_url: "https://www.aibilling.dev/providers/flexprice"
title: "Flexprice — Pricing, Features, Pros and Cons (2026) | AI Billing"
mirrored_at: 2026-08-25T03:02:03.976Z
host: www.aibilling.dev
cited_in_42a: true
mirror_canonical: "https://index.42a.ai/www.aibilling.dev/providers/flexprice"
---

> **Original source:** https://www.aibilling.dev/providers/flexprice

[Providers](https://www.aibilling.dev/providers)/Flexprice

![Flexprice logo](https://www.aibilling.dev/_next/image?url=%2Flogos%2Fflexprice.jpeg&w=96&q=75&dpl=dpl_CjdQjCzXzezVBa7BRDEmAAb42pDK)

Open-source usage metering and wallet-credit billing with a no-code pricing dashboard for SaaS and AI teams.

Invoice-basedOpen SourcePricing SimulationMulti-PSP

Last verified:

April 2026

* * *

## Good fit if...

-   →Startups and growth-stage teams adopting usage-based or credit-based pricing who need transparent, predictable flat-fee pricing
-   →Teams that want open-source code transparency and the option to self-host without vendor lock-in
-   →Product and growth teams that need to run pricing experiments without engineering changes for each update
-   →AI and SaaS companies in the US or India market that want multi-PSP support including Razorpay and Stripe
-   →Companies needing wallet credit infrastructure and a no-code pricing console without enterprise contract complexity

* * *

## Pricing

Model

Flat monthly fee by event volume tier; no revenue percentage

Free tier

Yes

Starting price

$500/month (Starter, billed monthly; $400/month billed annually)

Revenue %

None

Per customer

None

Per event

None (event volume included in tier)

Seat fees

None

Transparency

Full

### Canonical scenario — 100 customers, $2K MRR, 100K events, 5 seats

Line item

Cost

Platform fee

$500 (Starter tier, billed monthly; $400/month billed annually)

Per customer

$0

Seat fees

$0

Event fees

$0

Revenue %

$0

Payment processing

Pass-through

Total / month

$500 (Starter); $1,000 (Premium, if advanced credit features required)

The canonical scenario (100K events/month) fits within both the Starter and Premium event limits (10M and 25M respectively). The Starter tier ($500/month) covers core billing, usage metering, wallets, and customer portal. Flexprice does not publicly confirm whether real-time prepaid credit balance, recurring wallet top-ups, and entitlement management require the Premium tier ($1,000/month); if so, effective comparison cost is $1,000/month. Annual billing reduces these by 20%. Payment processing fees are charged by the connected PSP at pass-through rates. The open-source self-hosted version is excluded as it does not include wallet and credit features needed for a like-for-like comparison.

* * *

## Technical profile

Dimension

Value

Billing model

Hybrid

Usage authorization

Post-usage

No pre-authorization gate is documented. Balance monitoring uses low-balance alerts rather than per-event wallet authorization before work runs.

Usage tracking

Real-time metering + periodic invoice

Wallet architecture

First-class primitive

Wallets are documented as core infrastructure with a full lifecycle: create, top-up, auto-recharge, debit, and low-balance alerts. However, automatic usage-based debit from usage events is invoice-driven (debited via INVOICE\_PAYMENT transaction), not triggered on individual event ingestion. Manual API debit is synchronous and immediate.

Multi-asset support

USD-with-labels

Payment processing

Integrated

Requires a PSP account setup. Supported PSPs: Stripe, Razorpay, Paddle, and Chargebee. Not fully open to arbitrary PSPs.

PSP agnostic

Partial

Customer portal

Drop-in

Pre-built portal URL, embeddable via iframe and generated via an API token. The portal is read-only for customers — they can view balances, invoices, and usage analytics but cannot initiate payments or self-service top-ups.

Auto top-up

Platform-configured

Merchants set the top-up threshold and amount; end customers have no self-service threshold control in the documented feature set.

Integration model

Replaces stack

Profitability analytics

Aggregate

Open source

Partial

The AGPLv3 core covers metering, invoicing, and credit systems. Advanced features (real-time prepaid credit balance, recurring wallet top-ups, entitlement management, revenue analytics) are available on paid cloud tiers.

License

Open core

Deployment

Both

Enterprise contracts

Basic

Pricing models

Per-unit, Tiered, Volume, Subscription, Hybrid (subscription + usage), Prepaid credits / wallet, Seat-based

* * *

## Strengths

-   +Published, transparent flat-fee pricing starting at $500/month with no revenue percentage and a free tier for evaluation
-   +Wallet system with full lifecycle documentation — create, top-up, auto-recharge, debit, and low-balance alerts — positioned as core infrastructure
-   +No-code pricing management dashboard lets non-engineers modify pricing without code deployments or engineering tickets
-   +AGPLv3 open-source core with self-hosting on Docker Compose or AWS ECS/EKS; 3,600+ GitHub stars and active development (v2.1.3, April 2026)
-   +ClickHouse-backed real-time event metering for high-volume analytics with flexible deployment options
-   +Multiple PSP integrations — Stripe, Razorpay, Paddle, and Chargebee — suits teams in US and India markets

## Limitations

-   −Automatic wallet debit from usage events is invoice-driven (INVOICE\_PAYMENT transaction), not triggered atomically on each event ingestion
-   −No pre-usage authorization primitive — the platform monitors balance via low-balance alerts but cannot gate individual events before they run
-   −Customer portal is read-only — end customers can view balances and invoices but cannot initiate payments or self-service top-ups
-   −Auto top-up is merchant-controlled — end customers cannot set their own top-up threshold or amount via self-service
-   −PSP selection is limited to Stripe, Razorpay, Paddle, and Chargebee; no bring-your-own PSP model is documented
-   −Early-stage company (founded 2023) with limited publicly named enterprise customers; track record is thinner than more established billing platforms

* * *

## Not ideal for

-   ×Products that need real-time pre-authorization of wallet balance before individual usage events are incurred
-   ×Teams with complex enterprise contract requirements — commitments, true-ups, multi-year deals — which are not documented in Flexprice's current feature set
-   ×Companies requiring regulated-industry compliance certifications not publicly listed by Flexprice
-   ×Teams needing customer-controlled self-service wallet top-up rather than platform-configured auto-recharge rules

* * *

## Similar providers

* * *

## Company

Founded

2023

Headquarters

Not publicly disclosed

Funding

Seed stage; specific funding figures not publicly disclosed

* * *

## Sources

-   [Flexprice website — product positioning, customer stories, and feature overview](https://flexprice.io/?utm_source=aibilling.dev&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=provider-sources)accessed 2026-04
-   [Flexprice pricing page — Free, Starter, Premium, and Enterprise tier details](https://flexprice.io/pricing?utm_source=aibilling.dev&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=provider-sources)accessed 2026-04
-   [Flexprice documentation — wallet, billing, subscriptions, and portal reference](https://docs.flexprice.io/?utm_source=aibilling.dev&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=provider-sources)accessed 2026-04
-   [Flexprice wallet documentation — create, top-up, auto-recharge, and debit workflows](https://docs.flexprice.io/docs/wallet/create?utm_source=aibilling.dev&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=provider-sources)accessed 2026-04
-   [Flexprice wallet transactions API — INVOICE\_PAYMENT transaction type and debit behavior](https://docs.flexprice.io/api-reference/wallets/get-wallet-transactions?utm_source=aibilling.dev&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=provider-sources)accessed 2026-04
-   [Flexprice customer portal documentation — read-only iframe embed via API token](https://docs.flexprice.io/docs/customers/customer-portal?utm_source=aibilling.dev&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=provider-sources)accessed 2026-04
-   [Flexprice GitHub repository — AGPLv3 source, 3,600+ stars, v2.1.3 (April 15, 2026)](https://github.com/flexprice/flexprice?utm_source=aibilling.dev&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=provider-sources)accessed 2026-04
-   [Flexprice customer stories — Simplismart and Segwise case studies](https://flexprice.io/customer-stories?utm_source=aibilling.dev&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=provider-sources)accessed 2026-04